eNewsletter Signup

Recent Press Releases

October 1, 2013

Johanns Statement on Announcement of Farm Bill Conferees

WASHINGTON —U.S. Sen. Mike Johanns (R-Neb.), a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee and former Secretary of Agriculture, today released the following statement on the House and Senate announcing farm bill conferees:

“This takes us one step closer to enacting a long-term farm bill and giving our ag producers the certainty they need,” Johanns said. “There is a lot of work left to do, but I believe the House and Senate can come to an agreement on a fiscally responsible, market-oriented bill. I look forward to voting on a final bill.”

The House and Senate conferees are tasked with merging each chamber’s version of the farm bill into a single piece of legislation. That must pass the House and Senate before being signed into law by the President.

Senate conferees are Sens. Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Pat Leahy (D-Vt.), Tom Harkin (D-Iowa), Max Baucus (D-Mont.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Bob Bennet (D-Colo.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), John Boozman (R-Ark.) and John Hoeven (R-N.D.).

[Printer-Friendly Version]

*Currently displaying the latest 25 records. Use the select boxes from the filter bar above to view more records.